spacer   HKUST HKUST spacer
topbar Home Contact Us Sitemap HKUST
spacer English l 繁體 l 简体  
  News & Events Title  
List of Seminars
Honors and Awards
News & Events
Links & Resources
22 Mar 2018
Congratulations to Mark van Loosdrecht: Winner of 2018 Stockholm Water Prize

Mark van Loosdrecht, Principal Advisor of
the Academic Advisory Committee of CNERC-CTHMP (HK Branch),
Honored 2018 Stockholm Water Prize

The Stockholm International Water Institute announced on 22 Mar 2018 that the Stockholm Water Prize in 2018 was shared by Dutch and U.S. wastewater treatment experts Professor Mark van Loosdrecht and Professor Bruce Rittmann in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the global wastewater treatment technology.

The Stockholm Water Prize was established in 1991 and is an award for individuals or groups that have made outstanding contributions to solve the world's water problems. The prize was initiated by the Stockholm Water Foundation and managed by the Stockholm International Water Institute and the prize amount is 150,000 US dollars sponsored by King of Sweden.

Mark van Loosdrecht is a Professor in Environmental Biotechnology at Delft University of Technology (DUT) in the Netherlands, and also Principal Advisor of the Academic Advisory Committee of the CNERC-CTHMP (HK Branch). He has successfully developed several sustainable wastewater treatment technologies currently applied worldwide on full scale including the well-known anaerobic ammonia oxidation technology (ANNAMMOX/CANON) and aerobic granular sludge technology (NEREDA). Mark van Loosdrecht is the Editor-in-Chief of Water Research, an international high ranking scientific journal. He is also the winner of the Lee Kuan Yew Singapore Water Prize. At the Academic Advisory Committee Meeting which was held on 26 February 2018, Mark van Loosdrecht highly appreciated the progress on the development and industrialization of novel wastewater treatment technologies in our center.

About Stockholm Water Prize, please refer to

Copyright Reserved. Chinese National Engineering Reserach Center for Control and Treatment of Heavy Metal Pollution, HKUST